Wednesday, 29 June 2022, 16:46:35 — Baku (UTC+4)
Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic Speaking Countries

Kazakhstan's Minister of Foreign Affairs held a meeting with the Secretary General of TurkPA

September 7, Kazakhstan's Minister of Foreign Affairs Kairat Abdrakhmanov held a meeting with the Secretary General of the Parliamentary Assembly of Turkic-speaking Countries (TurkPA) Zhandos Asanov, who informed about the current activities of the organization and its plans for the future. In particular, he informed about the last major international events with the participation of representatives of the TurkPA and told about the preparations for the next Plenary Assembly.

In turn, the foreign minister highly appreciated the organization's contribution to the development of inter-parliamentary ties between the Turkic-speaking countries. In this connection, he thanked the Secretary General of the TurkPA for the active participation of the Assembly as international observers for the elections to the Senate of the Parliament of the Republic of Kazakhstan that took place in June this year.

Following the meeting, K. Abdrakhmanov handed to the Secretary General of TurkPA a departmental medal – “25 Years of the Diplomatic Service of the Republic of Kazakhstan".

TurkPA was established in 2008 on the initiative of the President of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev and currently its members are Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Turkey and Kyrgyzstan. The main mission of the organization is to develop inter-parliamentary cooperation between the Turkic-speaking countries. The Assembly's headquarters is located in the Baku (Azerbaijan).

Current TURKPA Chairmanship
TURKPA Chairman-in-Office